China Cabinet to Entertainment Center

 The DIY Show Off

My biggest project yet and the best, I think.

Even though I haven’t purchased the new flat screen TV yet (yes, we still have an old square tube television) because I am saving up for it, I have been searching yard sales and Craigslist for a piece of furniture for the new TV once we do get it.  I was thinking of some kind of console/sofa table but wanted something with storage.  We live in a rented duplex and storage space is almost non-existent, so a  piece of furniture with extra storage is always useful. 

Then I was browsing in one of my favorite blogs Better After and saw this…

And this…

So, I thought…I can do that.  So I started looking for something and found this gem for $25!!! on Craigslist!  I forgot to take a picture before I started taking it apart, sorry I was excited to get started.
 
My kitty, Stink, got in the pic too.  This is a great, solid wood china cabinet.  The two side panels had this wood lattice stuff on the glass, which I removed before taking the picture, but here is what it looked like on my floor…
Unfortunately, the two side panels weren’t doors like I thought they were, they were stationary, so I had to rip them off.  Yikes, that was scary.  But, I figured I could cover what damage I did with some moulding or something, which I did. 
Yeah…not so pretty.  Then I primed the whole thing using Valspar Mult-Purpose Primer.  I didn’t even have to sand the glossy finish!  
Then I painted it with Valspar Satin Finish in Cincinnatian Hotel Ashley Atrium (a light blue).  My living room, which is a project in process, is chocolate and blue.  Here’s what it looked like before the I got the trim up.
After getting the trim on, which isn’t my best work, but it will do until I figure out how to use a miter saw and put proper moulding on, I took a sanding block to it and distressed the paint a little.
Here is the finished piece in place in my living room, just waiting for the television.  A 42″ will fit in it, but I will probably go with a 37″ to start with.  My living room is kinda small, so the 37″ will be just fine. 
As you can see, I left the shelf from the original piece just stained. Below, you can see how I distressed it. 
The hole you see is what I did for the power cords.  I need a better tool to make that hole a little bigger and cleaner.  My tools are limited. 
So, what do you think?  Total cost for this project was just about $60!!!  By the way…I saw a similar piece in Ballard Designs catalog for $1,800. 
Yeah, they are way over priced, but still, I think mine looks just as good and will look even better when I get that new television in there.  πŸ™‚
I’ve joined the CSI Project   
Visit thecsiproject.com
I’ve linked to Finding Fabulous’ Frugalicious Fridays.  Check it out…

Funky Junk Interiors 31 Days Blog to Biz

10 thoughts on “China Cabinet to Entertainment Center

  1. That new cabinet is going to work wonderful for your someday new tv!! We did the same last year. We bought a cabinet for flat screen but used our old tv on it until we saved some $ for a new one!

  2. Wow, Gloria! You rocked this project! I love the color you chose! You go, girl! I discovered that Before & After site by accident a few weeks ago and it has inspired me to try to remake something. I went to three Habitat for Humanity Restores yesterday searching for something. I settled on a $15 chandelier (I figured I'd start small and work my way up). I want to paint it white and pale purple for my daughter's room. Also, in case you haven't discovered it yet…you HAVE to check out http://www.knock-offwood.com. You will be blown away! I promise! I had no interest in woodworking and then happened upon that site. I now have a sliding compound miter saw, nail gun, compressor and various other tools! I've even got three projects under my belt: two Pottery Barn inspired bookshelves, a Pottery Barn inspired media console, and a children's sized picnic table. I look forward to seeing more of your projects!

  3. It looks great!! So nice and fresh looking. πŸ™‚ You did a good job! I don't have a flat screen (yet) either. πŸ˜‰ I'm visiting from The CSI Project. My post was an older one– #5 on the list. πŸ™‚

  4. hiya , just came across you from kindness matters and i know this is an old post but i had to comment this is gorgeous , love the finish and the colour , well done on your first big project and i am following now and heading off to peek at the rest of your projects and ideas tfsxmaggiex

I love your comments. What are your thoughts?

