First attempt at upholstery

Besides recovering a dining room chair, which is pretty simple, this is my very first attempt at upholstery.   I found this little gem at my most favorite place, Craigslist, for $15!  (This is the picture that was on CL.)

Its not the most beautiful chair, but i figured it would be a good piece to start on.  Isn’t that 1960-70 something gold color just beautiful?  Yeah…we are getting rid of that!

So, after doing a little research on upholstery, I’ve learned to take a piece apart very carefully and save all the pieces to use as a pattern.   When I started looking at the construction of the chair I realized there were like 1,000 little rusty nails instead of stapes.  When was my last tetanus shot?? 

After removing the back and really looking at how this was constructed, I decided to not take any more of the old fabric off.  Call me impatient or lazy, all those little nails are a pain to remove.

I chose this absolutely gorgeous chocolate brown chenille fabric.  It is fabulously soft and it was 50% off at JoAnn’s.  I got 1 1/2 yards and prayed that would be enough.

Here we are half finished.  This part wasn’t too difficult.  Oh yeah…do you see, I spray painted the legs Heirloom White.

Then came the seat.  That was a little more challenging, especially the sides.  But, I pushed through and here’s the final result.

I have to admit, I’m pretty proud of myself.  Even my 16 year old son said, “it looks like it came from the manufacturer.”  Happiness!!!

Just to remind you, here’s the before again…

And now, isn’t she lovely?

I’ve got another chair to tackle, maybe next week.  Its going to be a bit harder.  Also need to find a coordinating fabric to this one.

Thanks for stopping by.

I’ve joined a little lovely‘s Saturday Soiree #9 and Funky Junk Interiors Saturday Night Special.  Hop on over.

Photobucket

Funky Junk's Sat Nite Special

6 thoughts on “First attempt at upholstery

  1. Hi ThereI think you did a fabulous job!! That fabic is to die for…yummy!!!Okay you are brave. I just did a chair to, but it was just the seat. I too came across a million tiny rusted nails—scary. Now, I'm hooked and ready for my next piece. Thans for sharing your wonderful.

  2. Thanks you guys! Paula, you can do it. It's not really that difficult. Just carefully look at how the piece is originally constructed and follow that piece by piece.

  3. I have that same chair! I found it at a yard sale for $1. Can't wait to get to work on it. Yours turned out great. Thanks for the inspiration!-Rene

I love your comments. What are your thoughts?

