A Dainty Little Table

I found this little table on Craigslist for $10.  Honestly, I thought it would be bigger before I saw it in person, but it was still cute.  Well, I would make it cuter.

I started on it a few weeks ago and sanded, and sanded, and sanded some more to get the previous finish off and made the top as smooth as a baby’s bottom.

***Please disregard the green on my deck and brick…this side of the house gets hardly any sunlight…I need to clean that.  YUCK.  

I decided to stain the top a dark brown and paint the legs a creamy white.  I used Minwax Wood Finish Stain in English Chestnut.  I only had to put on one coat of the stain and then sanded it lightly with a sanding block. 

I sealed and protected it with something I’ve never used before, but have wanted to try.  Minwax Paste Finishing Wax.

It was easy to use.  Just rub some on in a thin layer with a cloth (I used an old t-shirt), wait about 15-20 minutes for it to dry, and then buff with a cloth (again, I used the t-shirt).  The finish turned out to be just perfect…not too shiny, and its so smooth.   CAUTION:  This stuff is very smelly…use in a ventilated area!

And Valspar satin latex for the legs.  I can’t remember the name of the color. (I will look it up if anyone wants to know.)

So, here’s the final result.  Looks much better and I love the dark stain on top.  To remind you…

BEFORE:
AFTER:

Isn’t she sweet?

Linking up to:
HOG
 
 
6 thoughts on “A Dainty Little Table

  1. well first- thx for your comment on my blog! =)But, I swanee you are not gonna believe it- my mom has this SAME doggone table in her room right now and honey, it is hideous!!! And I wanted it before to try & fix but I especially want it now after seeing how awesome it can look!!!! It is so pretty & I would've just painted the whole thing but that stain, oh, it just made it fabulousER than just the paint! This is why I love these blogs. If I had already done that I'd be stripping it down to re do the top like yours! =)

  2. I love that we have such similar little tables! I got mine because I was going to pick up something else for free from Craigslist and saw the table sitting outside their front door. I asked if it was there because they were saving it for someone else and they said it was because they were going to throw it away- they hadn't even listed it because they thought no one would want it! They were happy to have me take it away. SCORE!

I love your comments. What are your thoughts?

