Visions of Christmas Dancing in My Head

It’s beginning to feel a lot like Christmas…well, not quite yet, but with all the TV commercials and decorations in the stores, it sure seems like it.  Yeah, I know, it’s not even Thanksgiving yet, but I’m planning on a new theme for my Christmas decor this year, and if I get my tree up the first week of December, I better get moving!

Also, seeing how my budget is very limited and I will be making and thrifting most of the decorations, I don’t have much time at all.

I actually put together my “new” tree last weekend in the basement to make sure all its parts were there and to see how it looked.  I picked it up at a yard sale this past Spring for $5.  I was extremely happy with the fullness and size of the tree when I got it up.  Yes!

So, what am I planning for this year’s decor?  I’m going with burlap and blue with a touch of red thrown in.  There will also be some silver for a little bling.  Gotta have some bling for Christmas, right?

Here’s some inspiration I have been collecting.

I plan on making some stockings like this with burlap and drop cloth, and maybe some fabric samples I picked up at JoAnne’s for $1 each. There were two huge bins full of the special order fabric samples.  I spent probably 30 minutes sifting through and had to edit what I picked at the end, or I would have spent like $30.  I think I got 6 pieces.  They will be great for pillows and other little projects. 

See how great a little red is with this blue?

Love this natural wreath with a little bling added.

I’m definitely making some of these.

And something like that Peace on Earth ornament. 

Love this burlap tree skirt from Ballard Designs.  Not paying $59 for it though.

Need to make some tiffany blue ornaments with paint like this.

And some sparkly pine cones like these Ballard ones.  Again, $15 for 3??  No way.

What is your inspiration for your holiday decor?

If I have used your picture from your blog, please let me know and I will give credit.  I should have recorded where I got them from. 

Gloria

6 thoughts on “Visions of Christmas Dancing in My Head

  1. I look forward to seeing your results. I think they will be spectacular! I love the blue with the pop of red! I have not even thought about Christmas yet. I love the burlap look so maybe a little of that this year would be fun!!

  2. Ohh, I love the beaded stars. Do you know where you found that? I'd love to read what they did… Great inspiration for everything though.

  3. I am planning this Christmas to be a big one. Not in monies spent but as festive as possible. Great ideas, hope you can give me more. Jason deploys in January right after Christmas and I want this to be a very memorable Christmas for everyone. Keep updating ideas, I just might have to steal a few.

  4. I always decorate with the ornaments which were handed down to me by my mother. they were given to her by her stepmother. I love putting a little history on my tree every year!

I love your comments. What are your thoughts?

