Quick Before and After

Here’s a quick little before and after of some built in shelves in my dining room.

After we moved in back in March, I just put a few things here as kind of a temporary place for them, and it drove me nuts because it looked so messy all the time.

 This is the only before I have with the top covered in burlap.

So, one day, after doing some thrifting and yard saling and starting a little collection of white and blue dishes, I got an idea.  I decided to treat the shelves like a china cabinet and display the beginnings of my collection.  I also wanted to add some texture and a contrasting color to the back of the shelves so that the dishes would POP.  This is when I purchased my first piece of burlap and fell in love. 

Here’s the finished project with the very beginnings of the collection..  Much better.

Styled for Fall.

And a little change up for Halloween.

Linking up to Savvy Southern Style’s first Before and After Party and The Shabby Nest’s Frugal Friday!

6 thoughts on “Quick Before and After

  1. What a cute idea with the burlap. Don't you just love that stuff? Your shelves make wish I had built in shelves! How lucky you are. I really like your picture frames with the letters to spell out "fall" and "boo". I think I will try that this weekend!

I love your comments. What are your thoughts?

