Christmas Tour

I’ve finally got everything decorated for Christmas, well for the most part, and I am loving the way the house looks. 

This is an antique frame that I picked up over the summer and I painted white and lightly sanded to show the detail in it.  It’s gorgeous.  I cheated a bit and just used a piece of black construction paper as a chalkboard and wrote “Oh Holy Night”.  One of my very favorite Christmas songs.  
The plate is from TJ Maxx ($2.99), the silver candle sticks from a thrift store $1 each and they are very heavy.  
The poof on the left one is a “snowball” made with coffee filters and a glass ball that I painted blue on the other.  And of course some sparkly stuff thrown in.  Gotta love sparkly.  I also made a coffee filter wreath for the dining room, and hung it over my big old window.  These are so easy to make and cost about $2 including the foam wreath and the ornaments – both from Dollar Tree. 
  
As you can see, I also added a little bling to my chandelier.  So pretty.
Very simple and only took about 45 minutes. 

I also added a few sparkly things to my shelves with my white dishes.  Can you spot the new things?  I got the ironstone cups and saucers from Goodwill for 25 cents each!!!

Here are the Dollar Tree hurricanes again decorated for Christmas.  Just a candle with silver snowflakes hot-glued to it.  Already had those from last year.

Here’s my lantern that I made over the summer from an old brass light fixture (see here).  Added a ceramic tree that I picked up at a yard sale that I painted white and sprinkled some blue glitter on.  Add white lights, ribbon, and some toole…done. 

Tray on the coffee table with some added sparkle.

The Tree glowing in all its glory.

I decorated the top shelf on my entertainment center with some white dishes I had, two more of those ceramic trees I painted, and some more sparkles.

And hung two of these gorgeous ornaments that I picked up on clearance at a Christmas in July sale.
I did spray paint them white and they are so much prettier than what they were.  Gotta love spray paint!

This is on the very top of my entertainment center.  I just wrapped a few boxes I had laying around, added some ribbon and a bow to one, a star ornament to the other.  More snowballs on top of glass candlesticks I had.  I also put a strand of white lights under some toole.  Love the effect. 

Over the sofa, I hung two wreaths in two picture frames I picked up at yard sales.

I love my new sparkly star.  Picked it up from Marshall’s for a song.

Most of the ornaments I got this year were from Dollar Tree and Wal-mart.  And the tree is an artificial one I picked up in the Spring at a yard sale for $5!!!  It’s really full and pretty, I lucked out.

Well, that’s it for now.  I’m hoping to get hold of a camera and replace these pictures with better ones, but for now, these will have to do.  I just wanted to show off what I had done this year.  I’m pretty proud of creating all of this for so little money this year.  
Merry Christmas!!! 
Go over and check out these linky parties. 
and

9 thoughts on “Christmas Tour

  1. Gloria, Your decorations are so beautiful! Thanks for sharing this at my party. I was an Atlanta girl for 20 years and we now live in Richmond. There are a lot of things I still miss about Atlanta…the traffic is not one of those! It is nice to "meet" another Va. blogger. Happy Holidays.Sherry

  2. I came over from the Nesters. "Oh Holy Night" is one of my favorite Christmas songs too. I love how you explained all your DIY projects. Your lantern turned out great and I think your dining room is my favorite. Kelly

I love your comments. What are your thoughts?

