What I’m working on…

My posts have been few and far between lately.  I have no excuses…its mostly because of laziness.  This winter has been so cold and dreary, I think it has made me want to sit on the sofa curled up with a blanket rather than work on projects in my cold basement that I have to actually go outside to get to.

But, I do have several things that I’m working on. Here’s a sneak peak at some of them.

I did get my bedroom painted, and the sunburst mirror made,

a new headboard made,

and 1/2 of my first slipcover sewed.  I’m very happy with how the top turned out.  Now to figure out how to connect the back part to the seat part.  Yeah…that’s the pink nightmare underneath. 

All these things are just for my bedroom.  I’ve been searching the thrift stores for cute accessories that I can use as-is or attack with a can of spray paint.  

Last weekend, I finally started painting my dining table.  I finished up the legs and have the first coat of stain on the top.  Something is a little weird with the top as the stain isn’t taking to certain spots.  I swear there was nothing left from the old stain or varnish.  Not sure what’s going on, but hopefully the next coat will help or I will have to figure out something else.  Don’t you just love all those curvy legs? 

While waiting to get a tire plugged last Saturday (it took 3 hours!), I trotted over to a local flea market and had a look around and found 3 great old books.  Tennyson’s Poems, The Rose of Sharon, and a History of Music from 1908. (I didn’t get a picture of the music book.)  It’s cool because it has the student’s notes in the margins.  They are in pretty rough shape, but really old.  The Rose of Sharon is dated 1847. 

I also finally found a buffet for the dining room for only $50!  I can’t wait to get it all fixed up.

Well, that’s about all I’ve got for now.  I’m hoping to have some finished projects to show you next time along with details on everything.

Stay warm and lets hope Punxsutawney Phil makes it out of his hole tomorrow and isn’t buried in snow or ice.

Gloria

I love your comments. What are your thoughts?

