Dining Table Reveal

I’ve been working on this table for months and have finally finished it.

Here’s the before…

And now, the after…

The chair on the left is what goes with the table, but I only have one finished.  The other chairs here are from my old table.  I painted the bottom with Valspar White (off the shelf) and the top is stained with Dark Walnut Minwax stain.  Then two coats of Wipe On Poly.  This was my first time using it and it was so easy to just wipe it on with a cloth and I love the finish.  I’ll also remind you, this table and chairs only cost me $40 at a yard sale last Fall.  I probably spent about $10 in supplies to finish it. 

As you can see, there are still some spots on the top that wouldn’t take the stain.  I did like four coats of stain, and it still wouldn’t take. So, I decided to go with it and call it distressed.  😉

I’m still dtrying to decide whether or not to distress the legs.  What do you think?

One more view from the staircase…

My next big project is that buffet over there to the right.  It turned out to be a little too big for this room, so this will be my first piece to sell.  I wish I could find a place for it myself, but its too big.  But, luckily, my sister found a gorgeous piece on the side of the road that she is giving to me.  Yay!! I love free stuff.  It’s hard to believe what some people will just throw away.

Have a wonderful day, and until next time.

Gloria

Linking up to:

Savvy Southern Style’s Wow Us Wednesday

<br>http://www.thethriftyhome.com

The Thrifty Home’s Penny Pinching Party

504 Main’s Tickled Pink Friday
504 Main

Miss Mustard Seed’s Furniture Feature Friday

 A La Carte’s Junkin’ Finds Friday
Photobucket” border=”0″>

19 thoughts on “Dining Table Reveal

  1. WOW, Gloria, the table looks amazing! The details are incredible! You are also very lucky to have the shelves to the left of the table, too. FANTASTIC! You did a fabulous job and I can't wait to see what you do with the other table. AWESOME!~Misti

  2. Nice job! I recently painted our kitchen set ALL cream and now want to make the top look stained. Maybe I'll try this product you used. Tks for sharing.Good luck with your next project. Sounds like you're off to a good start with "free" 🙂

  3. Great job on your table. Huge improvement. Found you on Miss Mustard Seed-dont you just love her blog?? just wanted to stop by and say hello.Lindsaycountrygirlhome.blogspot.com

  4. Gloria,You did a wonderful job on this. It is beautiful. I like the worn look, so I redid my kitchen table and I distressed the legs just by taking the sander to it. Such a nice makeover. Thanks for linking it up!Sherry

  5. your table is very pretty! you did a great job. The chairs are going to look awesome!distressing? I dunno. I guess it's a personal thing. I usually like distressed, but I recently did my table and I didn't even think about distressing it.good luck!thanks for sharing @ cccgail

  6. This IS my new table, Gloria! You did a BEAUTIFUL job on restoring it!! Thanks for the inspiration…I cannot wait to get started! (you need to go link this up to our flickr furniture group so everyone can see this…gorgeous)xoshaunna

I love your comments. What are your thoughts?

