Yet another use for drop cloth

I bet the drop cloth industry is wondering why their sales have increased so much over the past year or so.  Who knew so much could be done with this material?  Curtains, slipcovers, table runners, and now a pretty little rosette to embellish my lamp.

Feeling a little crafty late last night (10:00 p.m.) I went rifling through my craft closet not really sure what I wanted to do.  I found a plastic bag with scraps of drop cloth material from various projects and an idea popped in my head to try and make a fabric rosette.  I’ve been wanting to make some for a lamp shade in my bedroom.  Not really sure how to make them, I got out my scissors and glue gun and started trying.

This wasn’t so hard.  So, here’s a little tutorial for ya.

What you need:

  • A strip of fabric about 1″ wide and 24″ long.  Of course I used drop cloth, but I’m sure just about any fabric will work.
  • Glue gun.

To start, fold your strip of fabric in half lengthwise and start with a tight roll, about three turns, adding a dab of glue on the sides to hold it together.  It will look something like this. (Please excuse the blurry pics, obviously the late night didn’t agree with my photo skills, what skills there are.)

Then, loosely start twisting your fabric then gluing it to the spiral already created. 

Just keep twisting and burning your fingers gluing in a spiral until you are almost at the end of your fabric.  To finish it off, fold the last half inch or so of fabric toward the back of the rosette and glue it down.

Ta Da!  You have a cute little rosette to embellish almost anything with…lampshades, glue a pin to the back and wear it on a sweater, put on a pillow, anywhere you want.

Best of all…it was FREE! 
I am going to try some more of these with some different fabrics.

Have fun!

 
Check out these and others I’m participating on the Linky Parties tab.

Lettered Cottage How-To’s Day

6 thoughts on “Yet another use for drop cloth

  1. Love the rosettes on your cute green lamp. I have pieces of canvas dropcloth I've saved so this is the perfect project for me. Thanks for the tutorial!Also thanks for leaving such a nice note on my blog!Emily

I love your comments. What are your thoughts?

