Don’t throw that away!

As most of you probably know, I started this blog because I became addicted to other decorating blogs and I wanted to know how I could decorate my home on the cheap using what I already had or what I picked up at yard sales, thrift stores, or the side of the road.  Yes, I will do that…it amazes me what people will throw away!  As I am learning new tricks and ideas, I love sharing them with you. 

What I used to see as old, ugly and outdated, now I see the potential in.  I look for the lines of a piece of furniture or accessory, not necessarily the color or finish because a little paint and attention can equal an updated beautiful piece that you will love in your home.

For example, this table.  A client of mine had these old 1980’s golden oak tables that had been ruined (he thought) with water stains.  Also, he wanted a darker color that matched the rest of his decor and was a little more up to date.  He had looked everywhere for something to replace them, but didn’t want to spend $300-$400 on new ones.

Since the sides of the tables were pressboard covered with a thin veneer, stripping and staining the bottom wasn’t possible, but the top was solid wood.  So, I suggested a black paint for the bottom and a dark stain for the top.  Since the bachelor didn’t really have any idea what would look good, he trusted me and I took them home to work on.

I stripped the top with a great product I found (thanks Shaunna!) that is biodegradable, safe for the user, and has no chemically smell, called Smart Strip.  It just took one application and everything came off down to the bare wood with one swipe of a putty knife.  Then, you just wash off the furniture with water! Awesome stuff.

Here’s the end table stripped and sanded smooth.  I also lightly sanded the sides and legs so the paint would adhere.

I then painted the sides and legs with Valspar Latex Enamel black paint and stained the top with 3 coats of Minwax Red Mahogany stain.  To finish them off, I used Minwax Wipe-on Poly (2 coats) on the top.  We now have new, updated tables with no water stains.  And since we just past Earth Day, no tables in a landfill.

So, next time, you are thinking about changing things up or you think that something is ruined, it just may need a little love and a little paint to make you love it again.

And, you will be saving yourself a LOT of money!

Linking to these and other parties listed in the Linky Parties tab.

Photobucket

The Lettered Cottage

<br>http://www.thethriftyhome.com

6 thoughts on “Don’t throw that away!

  1. You just inspired me to move forward in staining our "inherited" tables. I will do the steps exactly as you have outlined here. Thank you so much for coming and linking up 🙂 Really appreciate your participation at the Creative Bloggers' Party & Hop.

I love your comments. What are your thoughts?

