I could hardly stand it!

I am probably one of the last people on Earth that has not been to an Ikea store.  Well…not any more!!

On our way to visit family for the Easter weekend, much to my “no shopping unless its for me” sons’ dismay, we made a 2 1/2 hour pit stop at the Charlotte, NC Ikea.

As we pulled off the exit and the store came into view, I could barely hold back my excitement as my 16 year old just shook his head at me. 

This place is HUGE!  I never expected it to be this big, which added to my excitement.  I ran in, well half because it was pouring rain, and angels began singing.  I think I’m exaggerating.  LOL

If you have never been to an Ikea before, you must go.  Upstairs was the showroom, with all these little rooms set up and even full apartments.  I was amazed with each one.

Now, I don’t think that the quality of Ikea furniture is the best out there and won’t last forever, but for the price, it is a good alternative.

 This was one of the bedrooms in a 546 square foot “apartment”.  That wall hanging was $149 and I thought pretty cool. 

They use space very well and the storage options are amazing.  For someone living in a small apartment (like me) there are some great ideas.

My daughter would love this space…purple and zebra and very cool.  I could see her living here.

 
I liked this grouping of frames.  They have so many frames at wonderful prices.

My youngest, the artist, wants this desk.  For the table top and base, just $159.  Not bad at all.  We will have to remember to tell Santa.  And, he was kinda digging the store by now, even though he wouldn’t admit it if you asked him.

My oldest boy, studying to be a chef, was in love with the kitchen set ups, especially this one.  I admit that the cabinets were cool, with all the storage gadgets in them. (That’s him by the way.) 

I loved this desktop.  It had the word “love” written a bunch of different languages and fonts.  Pretty cool.

I am looking for a new sofa for our living room, and liked this set up.

After going through the entire upstairs showroom, we headed down to the store section where all the accessories are located.  And, then, we headed back up to the cafe for lunch.

Of course, I had to have the Swedish meatballs, which were very good by the way…And cheap!

and this chocolate cake.  YUM!

Oh…did you know that if you spend more than $100 in the store, your entire meal is FREE?  I didn’t spend $100, but I thought that was pretty cool.

This is the section where you got your furniture.  HUGE!

I could have spent all afternoon there, but it was time to get back on the road.  It’s probably a good thing that I don’t have an Ikea closer than 3 hours away.  I could do some damage in there.

What did I get? 

The pillow is so soft and has a zipper closure so I can change the cover if I like. 

Pillow for $14.99
Set of kitchen tools for $4.99
Grater for $5.99
2 CD boxes for $3.99
5 magazine files $1.99

What do you love (or not love) about Ikea?  I don’t have any of their furniture…what are your reviews?

Hope you all had a great holiday weekend! 

3 thoughts on “I could hardly stand it!

  1. Seeing these pictures make me want to go again….I complain because its 45 minuets away…I'd go crazy if it were any further. My sister and I didn't know that if you spend more then $100 your food is free…good thing we ate!

I love your comments. What are your thoughts?

