Chalk Paint Love

If you haven’t heard of Annie Sloan’s Chalk Paint here in blogland in the last month, well, where have you been?  ๐Ÿ™‚

I am using Old White on this old ugly dresser that is scratched up.

I am officially in love with this stuff.  I wasn’t sure at first, as it went on kinda thick (the directions do say to thin it with a little water if you want it a little thinner), with brush strokes showing, and drying faster than I could brush.  But, as I continued, I got the hang of it.

Still a little wet in a few spots on top.

One coat almost covered, but I am glad I did a second coat.  The first coat was dry on the dresser by the time I finished the drawers, so I didn’t even have to stop.   Best thing of all…you don’t have to sand or prime!  That’s right.  I just wiped the dresser down with a Clorox wipe before I started. The finish is very matte and chalky when it dries, but we aren’t finished yet.

After painting, I waxed it with Minwax Finishing Wax and let that dry for about 20 minutes.  Then I tackled the piece with a sanding block to distress.

It was very easy and the whole piece felt like butter by the time I finished. 

After distressing, I put one one more coat of wax to protect and was done.

Total time from start to finish…2 1/2 hours.  Yep…done in one evening.

I only used about 1/4 of the can of paint, so I have plenty left to tackle something else.  And since this paint is pricey, that’s a good thing.  Another thing that makes it worth the price is that you don’t have to spend the money on primer and the time stripping and sanding your piece before you begin. So, all in all, I really only spent about $10 to refinish this dresser (1/4 of the cost of the paint and a little wax.).  That’s a bargain to me.

So, where do you get this paint?  There are only a handful of distributors they call stockists here in the U.S., and if you don’t have one near you, you will have to order online.  The stockist I used was the Southern Institute of Faux Finishing in Brandon, Mississippi (do you say M-I-crooked letter, crooked letter, I-crooked letter, crooked letter, I-humpback, humpback, I?  I do.  LOL). I am going to have to order more and try a new color. 

Here are the colors available.

Have you used this paint yet?  Will you?

Linking to these and other parties on the Linky Parties tab.

Just a Girl Royal Show and Share Day


 

17 thoughts on “Chalk Paint Love

  1. I got my shipment of old white last week that I plan to use for a dresser. I just started using the provence on an old rocking chair last night. So far I'm loving it. I'm new to painting furniture so I didn't want to deal with the priming and sanding. Love your piece.

  2. I just used this paint this week and blogged about it too!!! The store that carries my items is the newest stockist in Illinois and it is fun to describe this paint to Chalk Paint Virgins. It feels kinda nerdy to like paint this much but they will understand when they try it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. i'm thinking of using chalk paint for my kitchen cabinets, but my concern is whether or not this 'old white' is white enough…your piece looks like a creamy white…but is it more ivory or more white?alison

I love your comments. What are your thoughts?

