Have I told you lately how much I love…


I’m sure most people are tired of hearing about this paint, and don’t quite understand, unless you have used it yourself.  If you paint furniture…you need this paint.  No, I’m not paid to say this, and I have received no free product (darn it)…it’s just that awesome.

You may remember my first chalk paint project and how I loved it then.  I just got my second color, Louis Blue and love it.  Its such a soft Frenchy blue.  It was perfect for my next project…this chest on chest.

  

This is another Craigslist find.  It was already pretty; I love the original hardware.

I first painted the whole thing with one coat of Louis Blue – that’s all it took.  Then added some water to some Old White and washed it over the blue on everything but the drawers.  I wanted the blue to show through a little.

It’s hard to see in this picture, but a little of the blue still shows through.  Then I sanded and distressed a little.  

TIP:  In places with just one color, you can distress by using a wet rag.  Cuts down on the dust.  And, if you make a mistake and get paint where you don’t want it, you can just wipe it off with a wet rag. 

 Now enter, Annie Sloan wax.  Ok…this is so easy to use and wow, the finish is just gorgeous.  It’s so hard to see the sheen in photos, but I tried.

And, it feels so soft and smooth.  Like butta’  ๐Ÿ™‚

Here’s the finished product…

Love it.

Oh…I found a new Annie Sloan stockist closer to me Catfish Creative Furnishings.  Celeste is great to work with and my shipment came very quickly.   Check her out!

In other news…I’m having my first sale with my furniture and projects!  I’m excited and of course nervous how it will turn out.  Got lots to do this week to get ready…good thing I am on vacation from my day job this week.  We had planned on going to the beach, but the finances aren’t there so I figure I might was well get some work done and make some money.  Hopefully we will be able to get to the beach at least for a long weekend later in the Summer.  I’ll be posting all my projects this week.  I’m so excited about one of them that I can’t stand it.  Stay tuned!!

Linking to:

Making the World Cuter
Restore it Wednesday
Power of Paint Party
All things furniture Party – Perfectly Imperfect 

 

15 thoughts on “Have I told you lately how much I love…

  1. Gorgeous!!! Love that the drawer fronts stand out so much. I have a very similar dress I've been wanting to slap a little AS chalk paint on, and this just makes me want to get started like yesterday, ha!

  2. I love your Louis Blue dresser, what an amazing transformation. I am so tempted to get some chalk paint, I keep saying when I run out of what I have but now there is actually a stockist within driving distance from me and I feel myself giving in…….your post has probably thrown me over the edge with no return off to buy the chalk paint……can't wait to see next weeks projects!Sherry

  3. This looks great. I clicked on your pic because I just had a dresser given to me with those same handles. Do you know how old your piece was. I want to paint mine, but hubby thinks it may be old and wants to keep it the original stain. I am your newest follower. Hope you can visit me sometime.

  4. Hi! I've admired your work on this chest on chest and it is beautiful. I have a quick question re your wax technique. I've been applying the AS clear wax in small areas and then buffing and moving to the next area. Recently I saw a post by a stockist on Perfectly Imperfect who said to let the wax dry for a long time before buffing. So, when I saw your beautiful waxed finish I wondered what your technique is. Do you mind sharing how you wax? ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. This double chest is PURE PERFECTION! I love everything about it Isn't the Louis Blue really special?Can't wait to see more of your workCoriStarview Sonnet

I love your comments. What are your thoughts?

