Roadside Rescue

It just amazes me what people will throw away.  I mean, yes, this dresser needed some work, but trash it is not!

My sister picked this up on the side of the road some time ago and then graciously gave it to me to save.  It definitely had potential.

I cleaned the whole piece really good and sanded a few rough spots where the previous owner had tried to strip the finish and then gave it one good coat of Annie Sloan Chalk Paint in Old White.  I knew I was going to distress it pretty well, so one coat was plenty.

The veneer on top was in rough shape but otherwise, it just needed a good cleaning and some love.

I tried removing the veneer so I could have a smooth surface to paint, but under the veneer there wasn’t a solid piece of wood, it was in pieces.  So, I thought…cover it up with book pages.

Again, Mod Podge is awesome.  I placed the pages haphazardly over the top and then gave it two coats of Mod Podge on top.  When it was all dry, I took a straight edge and an exacto knife to trim the edges.  Then to make the edges perfect, I took an emery board and sanded the edges.

Then I distressed the whole piece with a 120 sanding block and then waxed with Annie Sloan’s clear wax.

Unfortunately the piece only had three of its original handles, so I had to use new ones.  But I did save the old ones and will use them for something else.

I love how it turned out.  I still need to work on the mirror.  The veneer on it is in pretty bad shape so I need to use some wood filler to fix it.

UPDATE: This project was featured in House Beautiful magazine’s June 2012 issue in their article on 20 Makeover Ideas.  Yep…I’m famous now!  hehe

Linking to:

IhookedupwithHoHlamespice

Photobucket

Perfectly Imperfect – All Things Furniture

{Primp}

39 thoughts on “Roadside Rescue

  1. An amazing dresser especially because you got it free! And I love the bookpage top. So pretty.By the way, I used your suggestion of the emery board (you left me a comment about it awhile back) on my giveaway apothecary dome and it worked like a charm! I gave you a little shout-out thank you as well for the advice.Check my giveaway out if you get a chance!Emilylovelybeasts.blogspot.com

  2. I totally love what you did to finish the top!! This post would be such a great addition to my blog party! I hope you stop by and join in.

  3. Beautiful work! Love the dresser! Such potential – I can't understand why everyone can't see thta?!?! I love it! Stacey of Embracing Change

  4. Goodness gracious! That dresser is absolutely stunning!!! WOW! I found you on Wow us Wednesdays – Savvy Southern Style…you have a new follower! 🙂

  5. Wow! You totally rocked that piece of furniture. I'm a new follower here from Kim's blog. Love your style! Pop over for a visit sometime.xoxo,Kim

  6. i'm an Atlanta girl, too (living in S.C). You did a fantastic job on this! I have yet to come across anything left roadside here in Rock Hill… but I'm hoping!! Looking forward to seeing more of your work…

  7. Pingback: Hey, That’s my name…in a magazine! | Potentially Beautiful

I love your comments. What are your thoughts?

