Have I piqued your Pinterest?

If you haven’t heard of the amazingly wonderful Pinterest yet, well, you haven’t been reading my posts first of all, and second…oh, you are in for a treat!

Whatever your interests, if you search things online and want to be able to remember where you saw something and organize what you have found, easily and with pictures, not just a bookmark, then Pinterest is definitely for you.

Basically, it is a place to store pictures of ideas, interests, how-to’s, places you want to go, things you want to do, books to read, you name it, you can store it neatly on Pinerest.  Think of it as an online inspiration board. (Read more about Pinterest here.)

How does it work?

First, you need an invite to join.  If you need one just comment below and I will send you one. (I need your email address to send you an invite.  A lot of you have your Blogger settings set so that your comments come to my inbox with a no-reply email address.  You can easily fix this, so I can reply to your comments in an email, by going to your settings.)

When you join, you will install a “Pin It” button into your bookmark bar in your browser.  You just drag that blue button up there and drop it.  Easy peasy.  They even have a little video to watch if you need more instructions.

You will have some basic pin “boards” or categories to pin stuff to and you can create your own to organize your pins. 

Then, as you are surfing the internet and see something wonderful you want to remember, click on your “Pin It” and choose your board you want to it to and put in a short description.

You can also follow other people’s boards and they can follow yours for some shared interest.
You can follow mine, just click on the red  next to my Twitter and Facebook icons.  (By the way, are you following me on Twitter and Facebook?  You should be.)

Warning:  This can be a huge time suck.  Hours can be lost, perhaps even days looking at other people’s pins and searching for all kinds of cool stuff.  Don’t say I didn’t warn ya.  I will not be held responsible for any lost time.  😉

I use Pinterest all the time, it’s become my “google”.  If I want some ideas for yellow furniture, I just go to Pinterest and type “yellow furniture” in the search bar and up pops all these wonderful pictures.  If I want more info on it from the source, just click on the picture and the link will be on that page to the original source.  Well, it should be the original source…

PLEASE, when you are pinning pictures, make sure you pin the picture from its original source.  For example, if you are here on Potentially Beautiful and see a beautiful dresser you want to pin, make sure you click on the post title with that picture in it before pinning.  If you don’t, when you go back later and want to read more info on that pin, if you pinned it with the link to the whole blog you are going to have to search for the post with that dresser.  This will help you and if someone “repins” your pin.

What’s a repin?  If you see a picture on someone else’s board, you can click “repin” and you will be able to place it on one of your boards.

So, that’s basically how it works.  Go check it out.  It’s wonderful!!!

I just love Pinterest and wanted to share it with all of my readers.  This is not a sponsored post.

 

20 thoughts on “Have I piqued your Pinterest?

  1. Oops! Being anonymous doesn't help a bit, does it? LOLI would love a Pinterest Invite–it might help me figure out all of those crazy links in my favorites!

  2. Hi Gloria,I am a new follower from the UK and absolutely loving your blog, thank you! You've inspired me to start charity shopping to decorate my new bedroom although I've yet to find anything I think I can actually renovate yet!If you don't mind I would really appreciate a link to Pinterest; it seems like a superb idea!My email address is rachaelpawley at hotmail. co . ukThank you!Rachael

I love your comments. What are your thoughts?

