A New Trick

Well, I finally picked up a paint brush this week.  I’ve got to get back in the groove here.

So, I’ve had this set of shutters forever just waiting for the perfect project.  Actually, I have 4 sets.  Picked them up at the Habitat Restore.

In Julie’s mood board, I included some shutters with a book page wreath that I think we may put over her desk.  So, here’s where these shutters come in.

Since we are accenting the room with turquoise, ASCP Duck Egg is the perfect color.  So, I slathered on a coat of paint.  No need for a second coat, as I’m going to distress it pretty good anyway.

Then, to give them a little more texture and age, I broke out the hair dryer.  Yep, the hair dryer.

If you put on a thick layer of paint and then dry it with a hair dryer (or heat gun if you have one) on hot, the paint will crack, giving you something like this.

Isn’t that cool?  A new trick.

So after adding a little crackly age, I distressed the whole thing with my handy dandy sanding block, then put on a coat of clear wax.

And, here’s the final product.

Pretty quick project and it will look great in Julie’s room.

Linking to:

Domestically Speaking Power of Paint Party
Primp Your Stuff
Savvy Southern Style Wow Us Wednesday
Restore Interiors Restored It Wednesday
The Shabby Creek Cottage  

 

25 thoughts on “A New Trick

  1. The shutters and wreath looks great together! Thanks for sharing the tip about the hair dryer. I'll have to remember that.Have a wonderful day,Gail

  2. Ooooh…thanks for sharing this tip! I have some shutters that I'm going to paint, but I want them to look old and chippy. This will make them even better. I'm going to pin your idea!

  3. Beautiful color and I love that new trick! I will def try it soon on one of my bazillion projects. Good for you for not only being a single mom (that is a feat in and of itself) but doing things on a budget and still having it turn out looking so great! I have got to get my hands on some more shutters. I have one small one and I love it. 🙂

I love your comments. What are your thoughts?

