Lovely Old Wardrobe

Happy Wednesday everybody.  Can you believe September is almost over?  This month has quickly disappeared before my eyes.

I love old wardrobes.  But seriously, did people’s entire wardrobes fit inside one of these?  I guess they just had fewer clothes than we do now.  Not that I have a lot, but I don’t think even half or a quarter of my wardrobe would fit in one of these.  I still love them.

They have so many other uses.  You could store linens, craft supplies, even kitchen appliances.

I picked up this one off of Craigslist along with a few other pieces that I will share later.

It was in great shape, but beat up on the outside.  So, I broke out the Annie Sloan’s Chalk Paint in Louis Blue and Old White.

This time, I tried a new technique with the wax.  I mixed in a little Old White with the wax to tone down the blue a little.  I love the effect and the variations in color.  The blue looks worn, which I love.

I left the inside as is, except for the drawers which were really scratched up.  I just cleaned the rest of the wood really good.  It was a bit grimy.

What do you think?  This lovely piece is at Buy the Season.

Linking up to:

Perfectly Imperfect All Things Furniture
Miss Mustard Seed Furniture Feature Friday

Making Lemonade
Domestically Speaking

Photobucket
 

6 thoughts on “Lovely Old Wardrobe

I love your comments. What are your thoughts?

