Sheet Music Ornaments

Remember when you were little and made paper fans all the time?  Well, if you can remember how to make those, you can make these pretty ornaments.

 Every time I go into a thrift store, I look in the book section for sheet music books. They are usually $1 to $2 each, which is such a bargain because you can get so much out of them.  You can also print some sheet music if you like.

Here’s a quick how-to for these ornaments for your tree.  They would probably make a pretty garland too.

Supplies:

  • Sheet music (1 page per ornament)
  • Hot glue gun
  • Scissors
  • String, twine, thread of your choice.
  • Glue and glitter (optional)

First, tear out your page and trim up the torn edge with your scissors.

Then, get to folding.  On the long edge, fan your page with 1/2″ to 3/4″ folds.  No need to be exact.  Just make them straight. 

Fold your fan in half and then cut it in half at your fold.

Now, round out your ends with your scissors so both ends of both pieces look like this.

At this point, if you want to put glitter on the edges, now is the time.  I squirted some plain ol’ school glue on a plate and dipped the rounded edges in it, and then into my gorgeous German glass glitter.  It’s really hard to get a good glittery picture.  Trust me, this stuff is so sparkly! Of course, you can use any glitter you like.

After your glitter has dried (if you are glittering), fold both pieces in half again, but don’t cut them.

Lay your pieces together like this and tie them in the middle with your string.  I used some jute that I had handy.

To complete the circle, hot glue each section together. And, there you have it!

You can even embellish the center of them.  I put a glittered letter on this one.

So easy and I can’t wait to get them on the tree.

I’m getting in the Christmas spirit!  Are you?

And here they are on my tree.

My ornaments were featured on 

Linking to:

Tip Junkie – Homemade Projects
Censtational Girl Holiday Crafts

Visit thecsiproject.com

Home Stories A2Z

  

11 thoughts on “Sheet Music Ornaments

  1. I LOVE any project with old paper, or sheet music šŸ™‚ I just posted a pic of the paper pomanders I made for my wedding on my blog. Hoping to do a tutorial soon! Your ornaments are so cute!! I am absolutely going to have to make a couple to mix in with the paper pomanders! (I am repurposing my wedding pomanders as Christmas ornaments!!)Thanks for the awesome idea! lovelovelovemoo. http://themusingsoflilmoomoo.blogspot.com

I love your comments. What are your thoughts?

