A Goodwill Dresser Lives Again

Would you have given this dresser a second look if you were browsing through your local Goodwill?

You probably first notice all the scratches, discoloring, water stains where I notice its solid wood, drawers all work nicely, nothing broken.

I basically ran over and ripped the ticket right off, especially when I saw it was only $20.  SOLD!

This was going to work perfectly in my living room to act as a media console, as I sold my china cabinet turned media cabinet when I moved.  I loved it, but it wasn’t going to work in the new place.  This dresser was perfect.

Annie Sloan’s Chalk Paint to the rescue.  I debated over colors…Old White, Duck Egg, Louis Blue.  Then I realized I wanted a little color in the living room.  It was pretty much all shades of white, which I love.  But it needed just a little color.  I decided to make a custom mix of Duck Egg and Louis Blue, toning down the green in the Duck Egg just a little.

So, I grabbed my trusty Purdy paint brush (love this brush) and a red Solo cup of Louis Duck (as I have named it) and went to town.  I was planning on distressing pretty heavily, so I only did one coat and it covered beautifully. Did you hear the “Red Solo cup! I fill you up!” song in your head just now? It was in my head the whole time I was painting.  ๐Ÿ™‚

Then when it was all dry (about 10 minutes later – love this paint) went to town with my sanding block (fine grit) and sanded away making the finish as smooth as a baby’s bottom.  Then brushed on the clear soft wax and buffed.  Put the hardware back on and she was finished in under an hour and a half.  Again…love this paint.

Here she is in all her glory.  Love the little bit of color it gives the room. 

One more money shot.

So, when you see that piece of furniture that’s all beat up and sad with an awesome price tag…scoop it up, bring it home and give it just a little love.  You won’t be sorry.

Pin It


Linking to:

Making the World Cuter
Show Me What Ya Got at Not Just a Housewife
The Charm of Home Home Sweet Home
Miss Mustard Seed Furniture Feature Friday


Home Stories A2Z

{Primp}
22 thoughts on “A Goodwill Dresser Lives Again

  1. Really lovely. I got one of these dresser that had been used and abused. I painted it with AS old white and stained the top walnut. Sure turned out beautiful. Love it when I see new life given to a piece like this. Thanks for saving it.

  2. You did a nice job ๐Ÿ™‚ LOVE the color of the dresser (and yes, I would have saw "something" in it- and might have had to fight you fer it- LOL)Via: Wow Us Wed Linky Party at Savvy Southern Style today.Smiles and thanks for sharing :)Suzanne in NW Illinois

  3. love that you mixed those two paint colors together. i don't think i would have thought of that. i am using duck egg blue and paris grey on an entertainment center that i'll put in our dining room..now you've given me color options for other things! thanks for that..and your goodwill piece is gorgeous.

  4. You see what I LOVE to see in a piece, good sturdy bones and icing on the cake is texture and curves! I love when the drawers all work and it's only "ugly",cuz that is such and easy and FUN fix!Looks great, my kind of treasure to find!

  5. My favorite kind of furniture, painted and old!! It's beautiful!! I have never heard of this paint, where have I been? It is such a soft, matte finish! Nice, thank you. I pinned it, something I'm new at!

I love your comments. What are your thoughts?

