Curtains from a Tablecloth

Simple panel curtains are pretty simple to make from just about any kind of fabric.

I’ve been looking for the perfect fabric for my living room curtains for a while but haven’t been able to find anything that was just the right color and wasn’t going to break the budget.

I was perusing through Target a few weeks ago and spotted these tablecloths on clearance.  They were the perfect color and length and an awesome price at $7.98 each!  I snatched two of them right up but had no plans to put them on a table.  They would make beautiful curtains. 

So, how do you turn a tablecloth into curtains?

Well, I have two windows to cover.  Actually, I’m not really going to close them very often, so I didn’t need them to be really wide.  The table cloth was 60″ x 104″ so I cut it in half and a little off the bottom to make two panels that were 30″ x 90″.  Then I was left with a raw edge on one side and the bottom.

I was too lazy to get out the sewing machine and then find a matching thread, so I decided to use some Heat n’ Bond.  Whoever invented this stuff should get a medal. It’s perfect for someone like me who is too lazy to sew and it works great for a project like this.

First place the tape paper side up onto your fabric far enough in so that when you fold the seam over it will lay on top of the Heat n’ Bond.

Then, with a warm iron, no steam, iron on the tape all the way down your raw edge for about 2-3 seconds.

Let the tape cool completely and then peel the paper off of the glue part.  See the clear glue part left behind?

Then fold your fabric onto the glue strip and iron down.  Because my edges were fraying, I folded it in just a little and then over the glue strip so that the edges would be inside the fold.  (Did that make sense?)  I turned my iron up just a little because this was pretty thick fabric.

Iron each section for a good 5 seconds or so to make sure it sticks.  And there you have a nice seam.  I did this on the side and the bottom.

Then, I just clipped the fabric panels on the rings and I had curtains from a tablecloth in about 30 minutes!  I got the rods and clips at Big Lots today.  They were only $8 and the clips were $5.50 and score, today was 20% off your entire purchase!  By the way, Big Lots is a great place to get curtain rods if you are in the market.

Here’s what the room looked like before curtains back in the Fall.

And now…new curtains for two windows for just under $16! They make the room feel a little more cozy and bring in some color on the walls.  Love them!

I have the other window panels done too, but needed a longer rod.  I’ll update the post with more pics after I get that one up. 

And, guess what…I found another tablecloth today to do my bedroom windows!  I’ll be sharing that with you soon.

Linking to:

Thrifty Decor Before and After Party
The DIY Show OffThe Girl CreativeTip Junkie handmade projectsHome Stories A2Z

IhookedupwithHoHlamespiceThe Shabby Nest Weekend Bloggy Reading

Pin It

9 thoughts on “Curtains from a Tablecloth

  1. I've used clearanced Target tablecloths twice now for curtains. We prolly should speak softly – they may try to raise the price on their tablecloths on us! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Love them! Nice job!

  2. They turned out great!! I have been to Target so many times looking for table clothes for curtains as well!!! Turned out great!Ange @ Decorating the Dorchester Way

  3. Hi Gloria! Love this colour! Isn't Target the best? Great idea to turn tablecloth's into curtains – they really look terrific in your room. I really like your white chest and globe too – you have done a great job decorating the room. I am your newest follower – please visit my blog sometime and say hello! Love to make new bloggy friends and follow me back if you would like!Heather @ settingforfour.blogspot.com

I love your comments. What are your thoughts?

