Creating a Spring Mantle

It is officially Spring! Trees are blooming, the grass is greening, flowers are popping up, and the sun is shining…well, when its not raining.

I’ve been trying to get this post done for days, but the past several days, the cloudy weather hasn’t cooperated.  But, finally today…sunshine, which means light and a photo shoot!  Yay!

Yes, it was time to change my “mantle” up from what it was for Winter (see that one here).  And, today, I thought I’d talk a little about creating a mantle vignette.

The first thing I usually do is gather all the things that I think I may want to add so I have plenty of stuff to choose from.  Then, I usually start with my largest element which this time is the white frame.

The frame with the wreath was the start of the layers I wanted to create. 

The next largest item was the scale, in all her rusty glory.   I added a bird and nest then a little flower pot with flowers on top.  Again, more layers.  To even the height on this side with the frame a little, I added the slate sign.

The pretty tulips in one of my many blue Ball jars balanced the height of the scale on this side. Don’t you just love tulips?

Then, down in front, I added some rolled moss, a little bird cage with colored eggs inside and a few more scattered to fill the space in front.  Layers. 

And, there you have it.  A pretty, Spring color filled “mantle”.  Here are a few more detail shots.

Happy Spring!

Linking to Layla’s Spring Fling Link Party over at The Lettered Cottage.  Come see me other there and all the other beautiful mantles!

The Lettered Cottage

Also linking to:

Redoux Friday Feature Party
  Weekend Bloggy ReadingFunky Junk's Sat Nite Special

Pin It

3 thoughts on “Creating a Spring Mantle

I love your comments. What are your thoughts?

